Grilled Romaine with Crema di Balsamico

Grilled Romaine with Balsamic Syrup

I couldn’t resist buying a miniature sized head of romaine lettuce at the farmers market this past weekend. For a while now, I have wanted to try it grilled, so I scooped one up with the intention of trying it that very night. WOW! Why have I never grilled lettuce before?

I simply halved the head with the core still intact. Brush with olive oil. Season with kosher salt and pepper. Grill for 2-3 minutes on each side. Done!

Grilled Romaine with Balsamic Syrup

Here I’ve plated it with some Crema di Balsamico that my Aunt Suzi gave to me. She picked it up on a trip to Germany, and I finally tried it. Basically, it’s a balsamic syrup. It added such a lovely flavor to the dish. Yum! Can’t wait to try it with other dishes. Any ideas?

Grilled Romaine and Oven Roasted Tomatoes

To accompany the grilled romaine, I roasted a sliced tomato for 10 minutes under the broiler and shaved a little parmigiano reggiano (not pictured) over the plate before serving. I was too hungry to take the time to add fresh herbs, but honestly, it didn’t feel like it was lacking anything. This is a great meal If you are looking for a ridiculously quick, light dinner. Everything was ready in about 15 minutes. You can’t beat that!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

