Home Preserving: Pickled Hot Peppers

Post water bath processing.

Recently, I decided it was finally time to start delving into home preserving. I’ve always been intrigued by it, but also pretty intimidated! Why? I don’t know. Seems more complicated than it really is.

I’ve been researching quite a bit, and reading a few books including Well-Preserved, which I highly recommend. She is so informative, and all the recipes sound so wonderful. She offers a handful of recipes utilizing the items you’ve preserved. I find that so helpful!

We started with pickled hot peppers. (This is not a recipe in the book.) I had made these before using this Bon Apetit recipe. However, I did not process them for long term storage. I only made one jar, and we ate them all in a matter of days! Figured this would be an easy one to start with, using this recipe as a guide.

Try them. Even if you don’t process in a water bath. You can make them and store in a jar in your fridge. So tasty. Great addition to sandwiches, and great for anyone who likes heat!

Next time I will pack the jars more. I was hesitant to overfill then, but I definitely could have added more. Drat!

***HOT TIP*** You may have leftover brine and peppers. Make a salsa! We added a dash of sriracha hot sauce and sweet chili sauce to the brine before pouring into the blender. Add a big handful of peppers, some tomatoes, lime juice and cilantro and blend away! This was one of the best salsas we’ve ever made…. ever! My husband is still talking about it.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Home Preserving: Pickled Hot Peppers”

  1. Jazz Rules Says:

    It is too bad you couldn’t resist waiting to eat them! A couple of weeks in the jar will give you a much different flavor. From my experience with making dill pickles, you need to make a few jars, so you can have one to eat while the others are pickling!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

