Romanesco Broccoli (Roman Cauliflower)

Romanesco Broccoli

I’ve been very curious about this vegetable I’d been seeing at my local Farmers Market. What was it? It looked almost medieval. What would it taste like? How would one prepare it?

I’m always up for trying new vegetables. Generally, I try them raw, first. Then, I roast simply with olive oil, salt and pepper. I love roasted cauliflower. This reminded me of cauliflower. So, I finally decided to purchase a small romanesco broccoli to sample. I plan to eat this in the next few days. I’ll report back my findings!

Romanesco Broccoli

Apparently, this vegetable was first documented in Italy in the sixteenth century, and it’s a variant of cauliflower. Much prettier than your run of the mill white variety that you normally consume. It is such a neat example of a fractal in nature. Very inspiring!

Romanesco Broccoli

Have you had this yet? If so, how did you prepare it? I’d love to hear about your ideas, too, on preparing this wonderfully unique vegetable.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

13 Responses to “Romanesco Broccoli (Roman Cauliflower)”

  1. Nazarina Says:

    This is the most beautiful cauliflower I have ever come across and you did an equally spectacular job photographing it! I would give anything to have the opportunity to cook with this beauty!

  2. Jenn L @ Peas & Crayons Says:

    woah….. it looks awesome but i wouldn’t know what to do other than to rinse and blanch it! simplicity is sometimes the best route though? ya think?

  3. abby Says:

    We saute it with some olive oil and fresh garlic .. occasionally adding in some other veggies.

  4. Jessica Ogden Says:

    These are best eaten raw (as a very pretty crudite) but they are also great roasted in walnut oil. Only roast them slightly though, if you overcook it, it loses its subtle taste, texture and colour.

  5. Frances Says:

    Steam it and top with olive oil and lemon juice.

  6. Frances Says:

    Why not just steam it and top with olive oil and lemon juice.

  7. Douglas Woodhouse Says:

    I agree, steam and top with olive oil and lemon. Also very pretty at a Raclette party to smother with cheese!

  8. widophotoart Says:

    Craziest looking veggie ever! Wow!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

