Angel Hair Zucchini “Pasta”

Mock Lemony Creme Pasta

This was super simple to make, super healthy and pretty darn tasty! I would call this Lemony Creme Zucchini Pasta. I adapted a recipe from RAWvolution and made it my own. The recipe was for a RAW “Alfredo” Sauce for your “pasta” noodles, but I didn’t have all the ingredients. I just threw together what I did have and topped it with raw spinach and a dollop of tapenade. It was very refreshing and bright, basically a cold summer pasta salad.

Mock Lemony Creme Pasta

The noodles I made with my new Saladacco Garnishing Machine. I’m so happy I ended up getting it because it really takes veggies to a different level. The zucchini was super easy to get through the machine, and the “noodles” were quite tender but still had a slight crunch. In the book, it was suggested to let the “noodles” sit out at room temperature for a couple hours to improve the texture a bit. I think this did help to feel more like pasta. Don’t you want to eat that bite?!

Angel Hair Zucchini Pasta

Above is the bottom portion of the Saladacco. It’s pretty fun to run these veggies through the machine. Once the “noodles” have all been cut you have to finger through slightly just to break apart. You could also peel the zucchini first, but I like the extra color. Also, I’m sure there are good nutrients in the skin. It’s much thinner and softer than say cucumber skin, so it doesn’t interfere with the texture of the dish.

Angel Hair Zucchini Pasta

All these noodles came from one zucchini! I would say this would feel 2 adults as a main or 4 side servings. The recipe below would probably be enough for the entire bowl of noodles, but I only prepared about a cup of noodles and spooned the sauce over. You may need to adjust if making a large quantity.

Lemony Creme Sauce

1/4 cup raw pine nuts
Juice of one lemon (more or less depending on the flavor you want)
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
1 garlic clove
1/3 cup Thai Coconut Water

*Optional: black pepper, other seasonings. I added a sprinkling of AllSpice, but the original recipe called for Nutmeg, I didn’t have any.

Simply add all ingredients in a blender and blend away. (The sauce will have small chunks of the pine nuts if you are using a common household blender as I was. If using a high speed blender, I would image the sauce will be a little creamier.)

To plate, I piled noodles high, spooned sauce over the noodles. I then topped mine with sliced, raw spinach leaves and a dollop of Roasted Red Pepper Tapenade from Trader Joe’s.

Please share your ideas! I’m sure there are endless possibilities for these noodles. I can’t wait to experiment more!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Angel Hair Zucchini “Pasta””

  1. peasandcukes Says:

    Yum! This looks really delicious. I’ll have to try it soon!!

  2. Kendall Micayla Says:

    oh wow, this looks so good!!!

Leave a Reply

