Huevos con Salsa Verde

Huevos con Salsa Verde

Some of my favorite flavors are those based in Latin dishes. These foods are typically packed with gobs of calories and fat. I enjoy deconstructing those traditional meals, and creating dishes that are much healthier yet still very tasty and satisfying.

One thing you have to try {if you haven’t already} is making homemade salsas. This is one of the easiest things to make, and salsas add so much flavor and punch to all sorts of dishes. I typically puree my salsas. Why? #1. My husband won’t eat onions, no matter how small they are diced, he will find them! #2. It’s so easy! Minimal chopping. Super fast. Quick clean up.

Huevos con Salsa Verde

Today I made my first salsa verde. It was so fresh and tasty {although I completely forgot to add garlic!}. Just remember to always salt and pepper everything. At least, it will be well seasoned!

To make this breakfast. Cook 2 large eggs and top with salsa verde, light sour cream, 3 slices of avocado* and cilantro. That’s it! This would be really good wrapped in a small tortilla or even served with some fat-free or low-fat refried beans. Or black beans if you don’t care for refried beans.

Huevos con Salsa Verde

*Avocado Tip: I always squeeze a bit of lemon juice on my avocado. Also, sprinkle a little salt and pepper. The lemon juice really brightens the flavor of the avocado. It will also help to keep it from browning once the air hits it.

Happy Weekend!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Huevos con Salsa Verde”

  1. Mom Says:

    Mmmmm…..looks great!

  2. Weight Losss Says:

    Thanks Christine for such a nice post! I am so glad you like your site

Leave a Reply

