Bruschetta :: 2 Ways

Bruschetta with Tomatoes and Caramelized Onions

Bruschetta is one of my favorite things. You can top it with anything and the possibilities are endless! This was my lunch today. It was so light and satisfying! I topped most of the bruschetta with a fresh tomato mixture, and the others with caramelized onions. Delish!

Bruschetta

Bruschetta is so simple to make. Slice a baguette into 1/4 to 1/2 inch slices, whichever you prefer. I like mine a bit thinner. Next, drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Pop it into a 400 degree oven and bake until edges brown and bruschetta is crisp. Keep an eye on it, it can burn before you know it! You can enjoy the bruschetta like this alongside your main meal or start experimenting with toppings.

Tomato topping (above) is 2 Roma tomatoes – chopped/diced, 1 clove of garlic – diced, chopped fresh basil, drizzle of olive oil and salt & pepper. Combine in a small bowl and let sit. The flavors get better the longer they sit, but if you need to eat it right away you can. It will still be wonderful.

Caramelized Onion Crostini

Don’t you want a bite?! I adore caramelized onions. I used to hate onions, but somewhere along the way I’ve developed an appreciation for them. This makes me happy as they are so fabulously delicious!

Tomorrow I’ll be sharing a How-To on caramelizing onions. Be sure to check back!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Bruschetta :: 2 Ways”

  1. jeanineguidry Says:

    See, my problem is that I read this now, after midnight…. that looks *insanely* good! I will be making it this weekend!

  2. Asparagus and Goat Feta Summer Salad with Bruschetta « The (Mostly) Healthy Kitchen Says:

    […] More on making bruschetta here. […]

Leave a Reply

