Tofu Shirataki Noodles

Tofu Shirataki Noodles

Have you heard of these noodles? I’ve been hearing about them quite a bit over the last year, but was never able to find them. Finally, I tracked them down at Whole Foods Market. There are mixed reviews on their flavor and texture, but I found them to be a satisfying substitute for regular, starchy noodles. Rinse them as the package suggests, and add to your favorite broth for an instant, healthy Ramen dish.

I used a can of vegetable broth, celery, onions, garlic, salt and pepper for my soup. In about 20 minutes I had my meal ready! While I won’t lead you on and say this is one of the best things I have ever eaten… It was quite satisfying for a light dinner. Experimentation is in order to find the perfect flavor combos and pairings for these noodles. Their texture is a bit “springier” than normal ramen noodles, but again, this did not bother me. Some people really disliked the texture. I’ll let you be the judge.

Their flavor? I found them to be a blank canvas. I think they would absorb the taste of whatever you were cooking them with. Personally, I would stick to Asian inspired dishes, rather than Italian.

Tofu Shirataki Noodles

Want to try these  healthy “noodles” for yourself? Click here.

The Facts:

  1. Variety of shapes (spaghetti, fettuccine, angel-hair)
  2. Low Carb (3g per serving)
  3. Low Calorie (40 calories for the entire package!)
  4. No Cholesterol
  5. No Sugar
  6. Gluten-Free
  7. Dairy-Free
  8. Contains 10% Calcium
  9. Vegan

Have you tried these? I’d love to hear your favorite way to prepare them.
Must be refrigerated. Last for several months from purchase date. Cannot be frozen. Purchased mine for under $2 per package.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Tofu Shirataki Noodles”

  1. karmalily Says:

    I’ve seen these in a local supermarket, and I was curious about them. I never bought them because I heard negative things about the texture and taste. When I want a substitute for regular noodles I usually go for kelp or zucchini noodles. I might still try these though. Thanks for the review!

  2. Q Weight Loss Says:

    I want to eat healthy “noodles”
    Thanks Christine for such a nice post!

  3. KBF Says:

    I have used these, in fact I had them for dinner last night. I do a traditional spaghetti & “meat”balls using these, a simple jarred marinara (without added sugar/salt), and sometimes mix in some drained canned artichoke hearts and Quorn veggie meatballs. Top it off with some veggie parmesan cheese and it really is a great substitute.

    I always warn people the first few times they try them to NOT smell the noodles when they open/drain the bag. They smell like they’re soaking in fishy water (they’re not) – the first time I opened I threw them out. Get past the smell and you’re golden.

  4. Elaine T Says:

    There is a web story that someone (perhaps in Japan) died because they were trying to lose weight and mainly comprised their diet with these noodles!! The noodles have little nutritional value, but do give a feeling of being full.

    I use the noodles every so often. Tried with spaghetti sauce and found it lacking. Much better with homemade stock and fresh vegetables in an Asian style soup. I think it is best to think of them as an entity to themselves rather than a substitute for traditional pasta. I find the springy texture interesting.

    • themostlyhealthykitchen Says:

      Wow! What a crazy story. Thanks for sharing. It is unfortunate they are so lacking in any type of nutritional value. I agree they work best with Asian styles of cooking. I haven’t been using them much lately.

Leave a Reply

